Beaufort County Democratic Party

Join Our Mailing List

The BCDP is looking for volunteers to serve as precinct officers, candidates interested in running for office, people to host fundraisers, among other activities. If you are interested in volunteering, please click on the link above and tell us about your interest area.  Thank you.

This link connects you to our Voter Registration information page.


March 2019

Join a Democratic Club in Your Area
There are four membership clubs in the Beaufort County Democratic Party that facilitate Democrats and those interested in Democratic politics to meet on a regular basis, be educated by engaging speakers, and participate in social activities.

To find out more about these Clubs, their activities, and how to join as a member, please click the appropriate link below.  Each Club maintains its own membership e-mail list, Facebook page, and website separate from the BCDP.  The Presidents of each of these clubs participate as active members of the Executive Committee of the BCDP.

Democratic Club - North of the Broad

3rd Thursday of the Month – NOB Democratic Club meeting, 7:00 pm, at the Grand Army Hall, 706 Newcastle Street, Beaufort.  

Democratic Club - Bluffton

Meetings First Wednesday of Each Month at Buckwalter Recreation Center at 6:00 PM.

Social Hours 3rd Thursdays of Each Month at locations to be announced at 6:00 PM.

Democratic Club - South of the Broad

Lunch Meetings 2nd Tuesday of each month on Hilton Head.


Evening Meetings 4th Tuesday of each month at Palmetto Electric on Matthews Drive.

Democratic Club - Sun City

First Wednesday of each Month,  6:30 - 7:30.  Hidden Cypress Golf Club.

For More Information:

February 2020

Precinct Organizing:  the Secret to Democratic Victories
This is the single most important meeting to attend if you want to be involved with the Democratic leadership in the 2020 Election. In addition to electing Precinct Leaders, attendees will also vote on delegates to the Beaufort County Democratic Convention (and in turn the South Carolina Democratic Convention and even the National Democratic Convention) as well as make recommendations for policy positions to the National Democratic Platform.  Plan to attend the Precinct Organizing Meeting in Your Area:
March 14 Update:  All of these meetings have been canceled.   Contact your local Democratic Club for further details.
BCDP Chair consults with Presidential Candidate Joe Biden during Emily Clyburn's memorial service in Charleston.

August 2019

BCDP Names 2020 Local Candidate Identification and Vetting Committee

BCDP announces the creation of a new Candidate Recruitment Committee for the 2020 Elections cycle.  The Candidate Recruitment Committee is responsible for the recruitment of candidates for the SC State Legislature, County Councils, Mayor and Town Councils, school boards, and other elected offices in Beaufort County (partisan and nonpartisan offices).

Our 2020 goal as a County Party is to identify Democratic candidates for all the partisan positions in the county.  If you are interested in running for office or just want to find out more about what is involved in running for political office, please contact one of the following Committee members found at this link:

June  2019

BCDP Strong Showing at the South Carolina Democratic Convention 

Beaufort County Democrats made a strong showing at the SCDP Convention held in Columbia, SC on June 10.   With a full delegation of 57 representatives from the County as well as alternates and guests, delegates were able to hear from 22 of the Democratic Presidential candidates as well as Representatives Joe Cunningham (D-SC) and Jim Clyburn (D-SC) and local representatives in the South Carolina legislature.  Pictures from this momentous occasion are accessible here and a blog post reviewing the highlight os the convention is available here.

July 2019

BCDP Gears Up for 2020 Elections









The Beaufort County Democratic Party is preparing for the 2020 elections.  The South Carolina Presidential Democratic Primary will take place on February 29, 2020, followed by the regular Democratic Primary on June 9 and the General Election on November 3, 2020.

Each Democratic Club that is part of the BCDP is responsible for organizing the precincts in their area  Clubs will host organizing meetings between October 2019 - February 2010 for the purpose of electing precinct officers and delegates to the Beaufort County Democratic Convention.

The BCDP will hold its own Convention on March 14, 2020, for the purpose of electing its officers as well as delegates to the South Carolina Democratic Convention.  The South Carolina Democratic Party will hold its convention in late Spring to elect delegates to the national Democratic Convention held in Milwaukee, July 13-July 16, 2020.

BCDP Campaign Offices

As in past election years, there are plans to open campaign offices in the Beaufort and the Hilton Head areas to organize volunteers to work on the campaigns.  Volunteers will be needed to make phone calls, canvas neighborhoods, host meet and greets, and staff the offices.

Working on Campaigns

In addition to volunteering to work for the local Democratic Party, individual candidates for President of the United States, U.S. Senate, House of Representatives, and state legislative seats are seeking volunteers for their campaigns.  The BCDP will make no endorsements until after the Democratic Primary in June, however, we are happy to provide you with the contact information for any candidate you might be interested in working for on their campaign.

March 2020


The Beaufort County Democratic Convention as a face-to-face meeting is canceled - an alternative method of meeting will be announced shortly.

Thank you and be well.

BCDP Chair Mayra Rivera-Vazquez and BCDP Members with Democratic Senate Candidate (SC) Jaime Harrison at a recent celebration of the Clyburn Fellows in Charleston

Registering to Vote


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • @CountyBeaufort

© 2019 Beaufort County Democratic Party

P.O. Box 21362 | Hilton Head, S.C. 29925|